How to Factory Reset Your iPhone Before Selling or Trading It





iphone-factory-reset.jpg

Photo by Jason Cipriani/ZDNet

It’s easy to forget about your old iPhone when setting up your brand new one. But once you’ve logged into all your apps and checked that your emails are showing up on your new iPhone, don’t just put your old phone in a box and forget about it.

It’s important to take a few minutes to factory reset your old iPhone, deleting all your personal information and apps, and erasing everything from your iCloud account or Apple ID, especially if you plan to sell or trade in your old iPhone. . You don’t want your data in the hands of a stranger, do you? Not to mention, if you trade in your phone and Apple’s Find My service is still active, some companies will reject the trade-in and you’ll miss out on all credits.

Wiping your phone only takes a few minutes, and it’s incredibly simple.

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone

iphone-reset.jpg

Screenshot by Jason Cipriani/ZDNet

Apple has simplified the process of resetting or erasing your iPhone with iOS 15. Instead of having to remember to turn off Find My iPhone and Activation Lock before resetting your phone, the new process takes care of everything for you. you.

To start, open the Settings app on your iPhone, then select General in the list of options. Next, scroll down the page and tap Transfer or Reset iPhone. The next screen will give you the option to prepare your phone to set up another device. You can follow these steps if you’re about to set up your new iPhone, or if you’ve already done so, just tap Erase all content and settings at the bottom of the screen. Enter your password when prompted.

The next screen will detail all the information that will be erased from your device and inform you that any cards, keys or passes from the Wallet app will be deleted. And, yes, Find My and Activation Lock will also be disabled.

Press blue Continue button. You will be presented with an iCloud Backup screen which, if you let it run its course, will run one last backup of your iPhone before it is erased. If you’ve already set up your new iPhone, you can skip this screen. Otherwise, let him finish. On the next screen, you will be asked to enter your Apple ID/iCloud account password when prompted. This is the step that disables Locate. After entering your password, press the To extinguish button in the upper right corner.

It might seem like nothing happens when you select Disable, but give it a second or two before you do anything else. In my experience, your phone tries to disable Find My during this time, but it has no progress indicator.

Finally, you will see another pop-up window with a button labeled erase iphone in red. If you press the button, your iPhone will reboot several times and once it does, all your information will be erased. You’ll know it’s done when you see a welcome screen.




Leave a Comment

x