How to Disable In-App Purchases on Android or iPhone





Close up of credit card
Teerasak Ladnongkhun/Shutterstock.com

To avoid accidentally purchasing in-app items on your Android, iPhone, or iPad, turn off the in-app purchase option so you have to review every purchase before it’s confirmed. Here’s how you can do it on your phone.

Disabling in-app purchases is a great way to make sure that you, or especially your kids, don’t end up buying expensive items from your installed apps or games. When you disable the option, your phone will ask for your confirmation each time you attempt to purchase an item from an app or game on your device.

RELATED: How to Enable, Disable, and PIN Protect Voice Purchasing on Your Amazon Echo

Prevent accidental in-app purchases on Android

On Android, you can have the Google Play Store ask for permission whenever someone tries to buy an in-app item on your phone.

To enable this option, first launch the Google Play Store app on your phone.

In the top right corner of the store, tap your profile icon.

In the profile menu, tap “Settings”.

Choose "Settings" from the menu.

On the “Settings” page, select “Authentication”.

Choose "Authentication" in "Settings."

In the expanded “Authentication” menu, tap on “Require authentication for purchases”.

To access "Require authentication for purchases."

In the “Purchase authentication” box that opens, enable the option “For all purchases through Google Play on this device”. This way your phone will ask for your authentication when you purchase an in-app item.

If you plan to make several in-app purchases in a short period of time, you can activate the “Every 30 minutes” option so that you are not prompted to authenticate with each purchase.

To permit "For all purchases through Google Play on this device."

If prompted, enter your Google Account password to continue. And that’s all.

From now on, you’ll need to confirm every in-app purchase before it’s made from your apps or games on your phone. Say goodbye to those accidental expensive purchases!

If you’ve already made a purchase and want to cancel it, remember that you may be able to get a refund from the Google Play Store.

RELATED: How to Get a Refund on the Google Play Store

Disable in-app purchases on iPhone or iPad

On iPhone or iPad, use an option in Screen Time to restrict your in-app purchases.

To do this, first launch Settings on your iPhone. In Settings, scroll down a bit and tap on “Screen Time”.

To select "screen time" in Settings.

Make sure you’ve set up Screen Time. Next, on the “Screen Time” page, tap on the “Content & Privacy Restrictions” option.

To open "Content and Privacy Restrictions."

Choose the “iTunes & App Store Purchases” option.

Faucet "iTunes and App Store purchases."

Select “In-App Purchases”.

To access "In-App Purchases."

Disable in-app purchases on your phone by selecting “Do not allow”.

Enable "Don't allow."

And you are ready. Don’t forget to get a refund from the App Store for any purchases you regret making.

Make sure you don’t give your Screen Time password to anyone else they can use it to lift in-app purchase restrictions.

RELATED: How to Disable iPhone Passcode





Roxxcloud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top