Am I blue? Or green? The color of iPhone text messages





Q. I have been sending text messages from my iPhone and I noticed that some of them are green and others are blue. What is the significance of the color in relation to my messages?

A. Apple iPhones can send text messages in two ways. The first is using the native functionality of iMessage. When you send a text message to another iPhone user, your message shows up in a blue box or bubble.

The other method of sending a message is using SMS, also known as short messaging service and is the more standard protocol used by non-iPhone devices such as Android phones.

What that means is when you send a text message to someone who is not using an iPhone, the message will be green. If the recipient is also using an iPhone, the message will be blue.

To take this a step further, you may have noticed that you can easily send text messages from your Apple computer using iMessage. However, if the recipient is using an Android, you will you might see a green bubble around your message followed by the words Not Delivered in red text.

This is because your Apple computer cannot send SMS messages without a little help.

If you want to send text messages to someone using an Android you will need to give your computer permission to use your phone to do this.

To enable this functionality, make sure your iPhone and your computer are both on the same Wi-Fi network and that both devices are signed into the same iCloud account.

Then, on your iPhone, go to Settings, Messages, Text Message Forwarding and select your computer to give it permission to use your phone to send SMS messages.

Once you do that, you can then use iMessage on your Mac to send text message to both iPhone users and others without a hitch.

Q. I keep getting messages on my PC from my notifications menu that I have been infected with a virus. I scanned my system and nothing was detected. What can I do?

A. What you are seeing are likely alerts that have attached themselves to Google Chrome. They are fraudulent alerts that are trying to scam you.

The easiest way to get rid of these is to simply reset Chrome.

To do this, click on the three dots in the upper right corner of the browser and select Settings.

Then click on Reset Settings on the left and follow the prompts.

You will not lose any of your saved information or bookmarks, but Google Chrome should stop sending these notifications.

.




Leave a Comment